Thursday, 6 March 2014

Waste segregation

Waste segregation (waste sorting) is the process by which waste is separated into different elements. 

Waste segregation means dividing waste into:
  • dry waste, 
  • wet waste,
  • household hazardous waste,
  • garden waste,
  • debris and rubbish and 
  • sanitary waste.

Dry waste includes: 
cartoon box, tetra packs, glass, metals and metal objects, plastic, paper, leather, rubber, rexin and tin

Wet waste includes: 
food leftovers, fruits & fruit peels, flowers, plantain leaf, greens, rotten fruits, vegetable peels, vegetable wastes, tea powder waste and coffee powder waste.

Household hazardous waste includes: 
tube lights, cfl blubs, fluorescent, cells and batteries, pesticides, insecticides, toilet cleaners, cleaning solutions oils, paints & solvents mosquito repellents, rat poison and Thermocol.

Garden waste includes:
weeds, branch trimmings, lawn trimmings, fallen leaves, coconut tree parts and roots.

Debris and rubbish and includes: 
construction waste, demolition waste, sweeping dust, drain slit, ashes and broken glass.

Sanitary waste includes:
disposable diapers, bathroom cleaning brush, sanitary napkins, human hair / nails, waxing strips and soiled cotton.